CMTE: Drums Alive® Basic Instructor Online Home Study

Start
March 13, 2021 9:00 am
End
March 14, 2021 12:45 pm
Address
Virtual   View map

$349.00

This Drums Alive® Basic Instructor Online Home Study Course is designed to provide you, the INSTRUCTOR, with basic knowledge and practical application of the Drums Alive® program.  You’ll learn the theory and application of this fun and effective group exercise program.  This course will explore sound and movement therapy through drumming and music.  You will also learn the loco-motor skills to drum your way to a distinctive and unforgettable class design! For this online/live training combination we will also be exploring how to effectively use Drums Alive as an addition to your current Music Therapy program.

Category:

Status

18 Continuing Music Therapy Education Credits

Description

This Drums Alive® Basic Instructor Online Home Study Course is designed to provide you, the INSTRUCTOR, with basic knowledge and practical application of the Drums Alive® program.  You’ll learn the theory and application of this fun and effective group exercise program.  This course will explore sound and movement therapy through drumming and music.  You will also learn the loco-motor skills to drum your way to a distinctive and unforgettable class design! For this online/live training combination we will also be exploring how to effectively use Drums Alive as an addition to your current Music Therapy program.

Drums Alive® is the original and only evidence-based drumming fitness, health, wellness program that provides a “Whole Brain & Whole Body” workout which promotes physical, social, emotional, and cognitive health at all life stages.  We work directly with a research team at the University of Chemnitz – Germany, Texas State University, Southern Connecticut State University, and University of Kentucky to prove the claims we make of its effectiveness (https://drumsalive3071.wpengine.com/about/research).  We also worked with a team of school teachers and administrators to ensure we were providing practical and useful teaching tools that address the many demands placed on today’s educators.  Drums Alive® is the first physical education and fitness trend that combines drumming, music, movement, and cognition through a multi-modular, cross-curriculum approach that sparks creativity and critical thinking.  Drums Alive® makes “Learning through Rhythm and Movement” fun and achievable by anyone, regardless of age, or ability.

 

This Online Home Study Course will cover:

  • Introduction to Drums Alive®
  • Medical and physiological effects of drumming
  • Benefits of Drumming
  • Basic Loco-motor Movement / Combined Skills
  • Basic Drumming Skills / Choreography and Practical Application
  • Power Beats
  • Wellness Beats
  • Rhythm and Drumming  Application
  • Group Dynamics / Practical Experience / Class Design
  • Music Therapy Applications

 

Drums Alive® Basic Instructor Online Home Study Course is approved by the Certification Board for Music Therapists (CBMT) for 18 Continuing Music Therapy Education credits. MusicWorx Inc. AP #097 maintains responsibility for program quality and adherence to CBMT policies and criteria.

Schedule

Self-Study Module (9.75 hours of instructional material)

February 6, 2021 – Day 1 Virtual Meet-Up

(3.4 hours of instructional material)

  • 09:00 AM – 12:45 PM Pacific Time
  • 11:00 AM – 02:45 PM Central Time 
  • 12:00 PM – 03:45 PM Eastern Time 

February 7, 2021 – Day 2 Virtual Meet-Up

(2.5 hours of instructional material)

  • 09:00 AM – 11:45 AM Pacific Time
  • 11:00 AM – 01:45 PM Central Time
  • 12:00 PM – 02:45 PM Eastern Time

Materials

$44.00 (recommended, not required)
  • 1 65cm stability ball
  • 1 Drums Alive bucket base
  • 1 pair of drumsticks

*Free shipping from WestMusic with discount code provided in “Equipment” section